Philadelphia Flower Show

As you may have picked up from some of my lessons and tips, environment is a key factor of photography. This past Sunday, I went to the Philadelphia Flower Show where I was literally surrounded by flowers. Blossomed flowers hung from the ceiling, scattered amongst pathways, dangled from walls, and I was able to experience true nature diversity.  I was blown away from the beauty of the plants around the world and creativity of the artists who designed each and every unique set up. The experience was absolutely unbelievable, so amazing that I had to dedicate a blog post to it 🙂

Version 2

This cute little cactus happened to catch my eye first. It can be found in South America but if you wanted you could purchase one online! The lighting in here was as you can imagaine extreme- I was constantly thinking about how I could use it to my advantage rather than letting it over power the pictures

IMG_4215

Version 2

This adorable woman looked too perfect with her mini garden and flower crown; the best part- she was sweet enough to let me take her picture. The minor details such as the newspaper with the title “Philadelphia Flower Show Features Plenty of Pedal Power” along with the pair of clogs sitting in the picture add to the timelines that brings the picture together

IMG_3983.jpg

….Just a taste of the explosion of flowers that went off in this room

IMG_3987.jpg

I decided to take a macro shot of the photo above this one since there was simply way too much to focus on. Macro photography is a fantastic way to capture details such as texture. I picked a point that appealed to my interest, got close, and made sure my shot was focused by tapping my point of interest on the screen- Bam. Even though the background of this shot is still chaotic with a lot going on, now it has a focus which in a way gives in purpose

IMG_4044.jpg

I told you… surrounded! Roses of various colors hung from the ceiling…I was in awe. Repetition of lines is known to add a certain appeal in photography, repetition of flowers didn’t disappoint

IMG_3794.jpg

Version 2

I was definitely trying to get as close as possible to the flowers for the pictures. This makes you feel sort of like you’re in a field of flowers

IMG_3887.jpg

IMG_3977.jpg

It was incredibly difficult to get shots without people in the background. If I wanted any pictures worth remembering I was going to have to be patient. So, in the future when you are out being a tourist and snapping away- be mindful of all of the extra faces in your photos. Sometimes it’s unavoidable due to the capacity of people or tightness of an area however, if you stand in the same spot for a minute or two the crowd will usually break and an opportunity will emerge to get the perfect shot

IMG_3971.jpg

IMG_4013

Another angle of the roses hanging from the ceiling during a light show (worm’s eye view)

IMG_4003.jpg

Version 2

IMG_4117.jpg

As if the plants and creative works weren’t astonishing enough, a separate room was reserved for a butterfly exhibit where people were allowed to catch and interact with live butterflies. I was attempting to catch butterflies with one hand and had my phone in the other. And since I had no control over the butterflies- I just have to hope they will want to hang out on my hand for awhile which worked out way better than expected

IMG_4078.jpg

IMG_4079.jpg

Version 3

(I wanted to have every angle of the butterfly- sometimes you gotta 🙂

IMG_4136 2.jpg

IMG_4131.jpg

IMG_4140.jpg

Took home my very own succulent

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I love the photos and adventures here! Thank you for your interest in my blog and I look forward to following yours.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you that means a lot! I’m new to the blogging world so I really appreciate the recognition 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ace&Demi says:

    So beautiful. Thanks for sharing. 😀

    Best regards, Ace and Demi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

